Dividing Hostas – 2

Three weeks ago I dug up and roughly hacked apart a large hosta. I wasn’t sure how well or how quickly it would recover (of even IF it would recover). However, I’m pleased to report that they have done quite well. All three parts have recovered and are growing so well, that you wouldn’t know that they had just been divided.

Divided hostas two weeks later

Divided hostas three weeks later

After hacking the mass into three parts, I cut back a lot of the foliage. To my suprise, all three have leafed out and look as if they have been planted here for a year.

In the past, I have divided established plants by washing off the soil until I could make out the individual plants and then separated them. This mass could have been divided into many, many plants. But to tell the truth, I don’t have room that many. Crude as it was, this worked well and gave me three good sized, vigoriously growing plants.

One response to this post.

  1. Yes Hosta are quite forgiving when dividing. I always divide mine when they are first spiking out of the ground..

    Happy Gardening
    Diane Mumm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

