Weather in the South II

As I’ve said before, I’m a southern boy. While I might be willing to move as far north as Tennessee or North Carolina, I don’t think I’d like to live much farther north than that. When it snows down here, it only sticks around for a day or two – enough to be a novelty, but not a nuisance. The farther north you go, the more of a nuisance it becomes and the day or two stretches into a month or two, or three…

My wife loves snow. She loves snow as only someone who has rarely had snow can love it. (We did have snow in south Georgia, but it was rare – about once every twelve years.)

When the snow starts drifting down, she will stand at the window exclaiming with amazement and delight. (After all, how often can you actually see the wind? You can almost see the air itself as the flakes drift down.) The beauty and wonder of it is so great that she will repeatedly call me over to the window to see the exact same thing I saw just a minute ago when she called me over. I find it simultaneously annoying and endearing.

This year, we had one of the rarest of weather phenomena for the South – a white Christmas. I can’t remember it ever snowing on Christmas down here. My two brothers and their families had come to Atlanta for a visit and by Christmas Eve, it was beginning to come down. No one really expected it to stick, so we were surprised when we got up the next morning to find it still snowing and beginning to accumulate on the ground. By the end of the day, we had a blanket of snow covering everything. It was only an inch or so, but still, for us it was something special.

Leave a Reply

