Snow-ocalypse!! -cont.

So all we were expecting was some snow flurries. I know they said that it would be “heavy at times,” but we’ve heard that before and had never seen it.

At 9:00 PM Sunday there was still no sign of snow. About 10:00 I looked out the window to find that it was snowing hard. Now it was coming down thicker and faster than we had seen it. Mrs. CondoGarden and I stood at the window watching it drift and swirl in the light cast by the streetlights. It fell in an even blanket on condos, grass, cars, and the parking lot. That last was a surprise. Usually, it melts when it hits the pavement, but not this time. It was quite cold out and was forecast to remain very cold for most of the week.

By Monday morning, it had gotten quite thick. I’d estimate we got 3-5 inches. That may not be much by northern standards, but it was a lot for us. Of course all the schools were canceled and I received an email from work saying that the office would be closed that day. Yay! Snow day!

As I looked at the weather foercasts during the day, it seemed obvious that the snow would hang around for a lot longer. The temperature wasn’t expected to rise much higher than 34-35, not enough to start any serious melting.

The local TV news was showing videos of cars sliding down a hill, knocking into one another. You watch them and just shake your head. Most of us who live in the South are well aware that we don’t know how to drive in ice and snow. And yet, there they are, trying to drive and getting their cars banged up.

I wonder, do they show videos like that everywhere, even in states where this kind of weather is common? Or is it just down here where we’re not used to ice and snow?

On Tuesday morning, I received an email saying the office was closed that day as well. I was becoming concerned about using up all my leave time. Finally, on Thursday, I ventured out to try to make it to work. It normally takes me about 35-40 minutes to drive there. That day it took over an hour and a lot of the roads were covered with black ice with only narrow ruts of bare pavement. Of course, I was afraid that if I strayed from those ruts, I would skid on the ice. My son, who works on the same side of town, later commented, the commute was “appropriately terrifying.”

Atlanta has only a few snow plows and we are well out into the exurbs, the edges of the metropolitan area. All we got was salt and sand on the roads. It helped a little, but it was not enough. By Friday, daytime temperatures were approaching 40 and there was more clear road with only a few icy patches.

Leave a Reply

